Reviews

REVIEW: A Clash of Kings

Wow, I am the worst at blogging. It’s been almost a month since I last posted about A Game of Thrones. And really, it’s because it’s taken me that long to read the second installment in A Song of Ice and Fire, A Clash of Kings.

Why did it take me so long? I’m not quite sure; I was busier than when I read A Game of Thrones, that’s true. But I think part of it was I had no idea what to expect. I knew the basic plot of AGoT, but I knew literally nothing about ACoK. It definitely made it a little slower going trying to figure out exactly what was going on. And I can definitely see how some people, my best friend included, get caught up and don’t end up finishing them. Once I started having to read Theon’s POV I almost just walked away completely.

clash_of_kings_povs_by_mustamirri-d5li9n3
By the way, this image from Mustamirri on Deviantart is the absolute perfect way to keep track of all the different Points of View in the book. Luckily for me they’ve done one of these images for all of the books I’m pretty sure!

 

REVIEW: A Clash of Kings, George R.R. Martin
Published: 1999
Length: 969

Most Memorable Line(s): For me, this one is a bit professional. It’s “he told himself.” And that’s the line because in one of Jon Snow’s POV chapters, it’s used to describe his thoughts in back to back sentences. It was a pure editor moment for me when I saw it the second time, cocked my head like a puppy, and thought, ‘hm, I probably would’ve changed that…’

What I liked: I pretty much enjoyed this entire book outside of two (ehh, three) story lines (that I will go into below). I loved reading more about the Stark family’s journey. And really, that’s what these books have been – they center almost wholly on the Starks. The Lannisters are heavily involved as well, of course, but to this point, only Tyrion has actually had a POV from that family, and he’s interacted as much with the Starks as he has with Lannisters. Personally, I think Martin’s best characters are Tyrion and Sansa. Tyrion’s POV always seemed to go really into depth about exactly what’s going on, which is awesome, especially because it’s not like HEY OMG HERE’S THE PLOT. It’s something we still need in such a dense book with lots of characters. I love Sansa’s character because of how quickly she realized what was happening to her, and, despite her continued naivety, she worked to do something about it. I love her interactions with Cersei and the Hound. Arya and Jon Snow also, as always, were fun to read. I thought Arya’s POV, while definitely frustrating at times, was great in this book because it showed what was going on in other houses and castles. Her time in Harrenhall was a bit confusing to me personally, but I mean where that will ultimately lead her I think is great. I also love that we got more in depth on the direwolves with Bran in this book. As in the first one, the depth of the world is just fascinating. OH. And how could I forget – I love the way they introduced Stannis and everything that comes with him (cough cough, The Lord of Light & Melisandre). Mostly, I love it because they show it through Davos’ perspective.

What I didn’t like: I really just couldn’t handle Cat’s storyline or Theon’s, for varying reasons. Theon’s was, to put it mildly, disgusting to read. Yadda Yadda he’s a douche and that’s the point, but it didn’t make reading it easier. I don’t fully see how that plot point is super necessary to the books, unless it’s just to introduce Ramsay? (Who I thought they said was dead, which was confusing, but whatever). As for Cat’s… hers seems really pointless this time, and it just highlighted how insignificant Robb is to the whole series anyway. I wish she could give counsel without her air of superiority, and while I get that it was important to see Renly somehow, I never really had any emotional attachment to anything that happened during Cat’s POVs. Also, and I know this is a bit sacrilege I guess, but I don’t find Dany endearing at all. Her scene where she tries to learn the future is really cool, but otherwise, I once again felt like her whole character and plot point was lacking.

Grade:7/10

Leave a Reply

