Reviews

REVIEW: Eldest & Brisingr

Okay, so I reread Eragon, and now I’ve reread Eldest and Brisingr. Three quarters through the Inheritance Cycle. This reading thing feels good again.

The reviewing thing, I’m getting there. Over at Lizzy Reads Books, Lizzy has discussed how hard it can be to review books. And I agree with her. To be fair, she’s WAY BETTER than me and takes all of her own photos and stuff. But really sitting down to write the reviews can just be… almost soul sucking for me. I want to review them, and to talk about my thoughts, but sometimes it’s just such a drain. And I don’t know if any of us know how to fix that issue!

My real current problem is that reviews are the only things I can think to write right now! I’m still in such a slump, it’s really bumming me out. Hopefully I’ll still get the little sparks to fly.

So I’m going to do this a little different, and review these two books at once. There won’t be any major spoilers, so I mean why not.

REVIEW: Eldest & Brisingr, Christopher Paolini
Published: 2005 & 2008
Length: 999 & 748

f8ecbab3a85031ca861318f529734a2f

Most Memorable Line(s): “Like a thread of smoke that thickens as a newborn fire blazes to life, so the voice rose in strength until the forest sighed with a teasing, twisted melody that leaped and fell with wild abandon.” – Eldest.
>Sometimes I feel like Paolini overdoes it with his language use (mark of a young writer maybe?) and is trying to seem grander than he or his novel is. This sentence, however, just struck me. It was pretty incredible.

And, for one from Brisingr, this, because don’t we all feel this way?
IMG_3843

What I liked: Way more happened in these books than I remembered – not the least of which is the varying viewpoints! For reasons I’ll expound on below, it was nice to get out of Eragon’s viewpoint every once and a while and see how the other characters were doing and to understand their thoughts. Nasuada’s viewpoints were particularly awesome to read through. She’s possibly the strongest, most developed character in the entire series. Every decision she makes makes sense, and has a purpose, but she’s also incredibly emotionally deep. Love everything about her. The way he developed Saphira’s mannerisms and thoughts were also incredibly interesting. Everything was so matter of fact. These two books also wonderfully built on the world of Alagaesia. Seeing where the elves live in Du Weldensvarden was the perfect complement to Eragon’s journey across the desert and through cities in the first book. Paolini’s best attribute is that he fully develops his settings. Each place feels totally new but completely necessary. Also, Paolini’s twists are great – even when we feel like we know a character, we can learn something new.

brisingr_book_cover

What I didn’t like: I decided to do these two books as one review because of one massive, overwhelming feeling… “Holy shit, Eragon you are such a whiny, self-righteous jerk! Get over yourself and stop being a child.” Throughout these two books, Eragon throws roughly a bajillion tantrums. After foolishly pledging himself to multiple rulers (oh hey, nothing could go wrong there), he repeatedly gets upset when they tell him he needs to act in a certain way because they are his authority. It was infuriating. Does this mean I’m an adult? I cannot remember ever feeling this annoyed at him throughout the books last time, though as I said it’s been so long I forgot so much more than I realized. But anyway, it was almost too much. There were times I literally put the books down because I was so frustrated by his childishness.

Grade:7.5/10

 

2 thoughts on “REVIEW: Eldest & Brisingr

  1. Don’t be so hard on yourself! I’m loving these reviews of the Eragorn series as its not a series I’ve ever read. And it’s interesting to see the differences between what you thought reading it then and now. So keep at it!

    Thank you so much for being so sweet. To be honest, most of the time I only bother to take the photos to procrastinate writing the actual reviews. You’re right – they are soul sucking!

    Like

Leave a Reply

