Musings · Reviews

REVIEW: Eragon

As I’ve mentioned in a few posts recently, I’ve been having a hard time completing the challenge I’ve set for myself this year. I want to get out of my comfort zone and try to have 60% of the books I read include cultures/countries/storylines that I’m not usually exposed to or aware of. It’s something I’ve really been striving to do, but the way I’ve been doing it isn’t working. I’m forcing it too much. I’m going out of my comfort zone to the point where I don’t want to read because I’m worried things won’t apply. So recently, I decided I had to stop. I had to take a deep breath and decide once again just to read. Because if I read the things that interest me, I will be okay. I can, and should, still look to expand my horizons, but I’m done forcing myself to stress. Reading shouldn’t be stressful.

So where does that leave me? Well, with a blank slate and a giant TBR pile in my mind. And what book did I choose out of that group to start the second half of the year with? A book I’ve already read, obviously. Though, to be fair, I haven’t read this book in a number of years. eragonce

REVIEW: Eragon, Christopher Paolini
Published: 2003
Length: 496

Plot: When 15-year-old Eragon finds a polished blue stone in the woods while hunting, he thinks it could be valuable – but he had no idea it was a dragon egg. When the dragon hatches, Eragon becomes immersed in a world he never knew existed right under his own nose.

Most Memorable Line(s): Hm, I don’t know if there’s a specific line that stood out to me in Eragon, overall the conversations between Eragon and Saphira I’d say!

What I liked: Pretty much everything! I haven’t read this book in probably about 5, 6 years? Maybe even longer. So while I remembered most of the basic happenings of the series, I forgot how awesome the world building was in Eragon. And it’s amazing that this story was written when the author was only 15. But anyway, out of the world building, the relationship building was phenomenal. I really understood the way the relationships between Eragon and Saphira, Eragon and Brom, Brom and Jeod, had been cultivated. They were all so believable. Paolini also does a fantastic job at laying things out for his readers without giving away the plot. The twists were shocking, but not unbelievable, which I find sometime happens, especially in fantasy novels.

What I didn’t like: At times, Eragon seemed…younger than I remembered. And sometimes, when you’re reading a character as young, you get annoyed with their rash decisions. I felt that this time while reading Eragon.

Grade: 8.5/10

Leave a Reply

