Musings

One Hundred Fifty

Lovely readers, my Earth Day post helped me reach a pretty fantastic milestone: 150 posts on this blog!

When I hit 100 posts, I talked about 100 of my favorite characters that I’ve read throughout the years. Now that I’ve hit 150, it seems only fair that I list 150 books I’ve read throughout my life.

I won’t lie, when I decided to do this, I made a Word doc listing out as many as I could off the top of my head. I got to 125 before I stopped. 125! I was pretty proud of myself. This list isn’t in order of the books I like the best or the least, it’s just a list of the many, many books I’ve had the pleasure (and pain) of reading. It’s a list of the stories that have made me who I am today.

17fc3025-5791-4c50-a3e6-1766722d6c76

  1. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone, JK Rowling
    >For so many reasons, this book is one that changed my life. Its ability to transcend any label is what makes it so amazing. Rowling builds the most amazing universe in just 100 pages, and what’s great is that the rest of the books only improve on this strong debut.
  2. Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets, JK Rowling
  3. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, JK Rowling
  4. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, JK Rowling
  5. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix, JK Rowling
  6. Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince, JK Rowling
  7. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, JK Rowling
  8. The Hunger Games, Suzanne Collins
  9. Catching Fire, Suzanne Collins
  10. Mockingjay, Suzanne Collins
  11. The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe, CS Lewis
  12. Prince Caspian, CS Lewis
  13. The Voyage of the Dawn Treader, CS Lewis
  14. The Horse and His Boy,CS Lewis
  15. The Magician’s Nephew, CS Lewis
  16. Fahrenheit 451, Ray Bradbury
    >One day, I’m going to do a post about my favorite quotes about reading. While it won’t be exclusively from this book, having read this book will be one of the only reasons I am now able to articulate why I love to read. Why Montag goes through to read and remember books was super influential to me.
  17. Frankenstein, Mary Shelley
  18. The Night Circus, Erin Morgenstern
  19. A River Runs Through it, Norman MacLean
  20. Red Rising, Pierce Brown
  21. The Devil and the White City, Erik Larson
  22. Golden Son, Pierce Brown
  23. To Kill a Mockingbird, Harper Lee
  24. The Sword of Summer, Rick Riordan
  25. Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, Lewis Carroll
  26. The Lightning Thief, Rick Riordan
  27. Sea of Monsters, Rick Riordan
  28. The Titan’s Curse, Rick Riordan
  29. The Battle of the Labyrinth, Rick Riordan
  30. The Last Olympian, Rick Riordan
  31. The Lost Hero, Rick Riordan
  32. The Son of Neptune, Rick Riordan
  33. The Mark of Athena, Rick Riordan
    >This might be my favorite RR book, because it’s Annabeth’s turn to truly shine. While she’s great leading up to this, her story arc through this book really just shows how strong RR is as a writer because he gives his characters the capabilities and the challenges to grow a little more on every page.
  34. The House of Hades, Rick Riordan
  35. The Blood of Olympus, Rick Riordan
  36. The Serpent of Venice, Christopher Moore
    >Christopher Moore might be one of the best writers I’ve ever read. This book is a must read if you’re a fan of Shakespeare or humor/satire.
  37. Lamb, Christopher Moore
  38. The Secret Life of Walter Mitty, James Thurber
  39. Under the Udala Trees,Chinelo Okparanta
  40. The Magic Strings of Frankie Presto,Mitch Albom
  41. Orhan’s Inheritance, Aline Ohanesian
  42. The Danish Girl, David Ebershoff
  43. Saint Anything, Sarah Dessen
  44. Atlantia, Ally Condie
  45. The Wrath and the Dawn, Renee Ahdieh
  46. Four: A Divergent Story,Veronica Roth
  47. Divergent, Veronica Roth
  48. Insurgent, Veronica Roth
  49. Allegiant, Veronica Roth
  50. The Love That Split the World, Emily Henry
  51. If I Stay, Gayle Forman
  52. Where She Went, Gayle Forman
  53. An Ember in the Ashes, Sabaa Tahir
  54. The Name of the Star, Maureen Johnson
  55. Just Listen, Sarah Dessen
    >Though it deals with one of the most heavy subjects, and was one of the most difficult for Dessen to write, Just Listen is my favorite of all her books. Each character has such a wonderful voice and purpose throughout the book. Nothing was done without reason, likely because it was so hard for her to get through. Her struggle was worth it.
  56. The Truth About Forever, Sarah Dessen
  57. Tuesdays with Morrie, Mitch Albom
  58. The Five People You Meet in Heaven, Mitch Albom
  59. Keeping the Moon, Sarah Dessen
  60. The Moon and More, Sarah Dessen
  61. What Happened to Goodbye, Sarah Dessen
  62. Lock and Key, Sarah Dessen
  63. That Summer, Sarah Dessen
  64. This Lullaby, Sarah Dessen
  65. Peter Pan, JM Barrie
  66. The Scarlet Letter, Nathaniel Hawthorne
  67. The Great Gatsby, F. Scott Fitzgerald
  68. The Handmaid’s Tale, Margaret Atwood
    >Atwood’s dystopian novel is one that I hadn’t read until I was out of college, and it’s one I’ll be forever thankful for reading. Its comments on society are poignant and profound and forever changed the way I looked at the world.
  69. Life of Pi, Yann Martel
  70. Gone Girl, Gillian Flynn
  71. The Martian, Andy Weir
  72. Pride and Prejudice, Jane Austen
  73. Eragon, Christopher Paolini
  74. Eldest, Christopher Paolini
  75. Brisingr, Christopher Paolini
  76. Inheritance, Christopher Paolini
  77. The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes, Arthur Conan Doyle
  78. The Book Thief, Markus Zusak
    >The Book Thief is easily one of the most creative stories I’ve ever come across. It presented the happenings of WWII in a way I’d never encountered before.
  79. Zodiac, Romina Russell
  80. Oryx and Crake, Margaret Atwood
  81. A Separate Peace, John Knowles
  82. The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, Mark Twain
  83. Along for the Ride, Sarah Dessen
  84. Dreamland, Sarah Dessen
  85. Around the World in 80 Days, Jules Verne
  86. The Picture of Dorian Gray, Oscar Wilde
  87. Inferno, Dan Brown
  88. The Da Vinci Code, Dan Brown
  89. Angels and Demons, Dan Brown
  90. The Lost Symbol, Dan Brown
  91. The Lake of Dead Languages, Carol Goodman
  92. S. (The Ship of Theseus), JJ Abrams & Doug Dorst
  93. The Time Traveler’s Wife, Audrey Niffenegger
  94. The Kite Runner, Khaled Hosseni
  95. A Thousand Splendid Suns, Khaled Hosseni
  96. The Tiger’s Wife, Tea Obrecht
  97. Oh The Places You’ll Go, Dr. Seuss
    >This book has such a special place in my heart. I was given a copy by my best friend’s mother when I graduated high school. When I was a junior in college, she tragically died. Having such a thoughtful token makes the book’s message even more meaningful.
  98. In The Time of the Butterflies, Julia Alvarez
  99. The Wizard of Earthsea, Ursula LeGuin
  100. Dracula, Bram Stoker
  101. The Time Keeper, Mitch Albom
  102. The Polar Express, Chris Van Allsburg
  103. Put Me in the Zoo, Robert Lopshire
  104. The Hobbit, JRR Tolkein
  105. The Rum Diary, Hunter S Thompson
  106. The Dog Stars, Peter Heller
  107. Graduates in Wonderland, Jessica Pan & Rachel Kapaelke-Dale
  108. Put on a Happy Face, Debbie Butcher Cho/Samuel J Butcher
    >This Little Golden Book was given to me when I was 2 years old at day care. I still remember how much fun I had when I read it with my parents.
  109. Rhapsody, Elizabeth Haydon
  110. Prophecy, Elizabeth Haydon
  111. Destiny, Elizabeth Haydon
  112. The Sailor Dog, Margaret Wise Brown/Garth Williams
  113. The Pearl, John Steinbeck
  114. Of Mice and Men, John Steinbeck
  115. The Lord of the Flies, William Golding
  116. Twilight, Stephenie Meyer
    >I enjoyed reading the entire Twilight Saga. There are definitely some issues I have with the books, but I’m capable of enjoying them. However, I do wish she’d redo the WHOLE series from Edward’s perspective, as she had inteded to do with Midnight Sun. And when we see Jacob’s perspective in Breaking Dawn, I’d want Alice’s instead. It would be perfect. This book, though, started the CRAZE, and I understand why, I’m just glad I wasn’t part of it really.
  117. New Moon, Stephenie Meyer
  118. Eclipse, Stephenie Meyer
  119. Breaking Dawn, Stephenie Meyer
  120. Tuck Everlasting, Natalie Babbitt
  121. Corduroy, Don Freeman
  122. The Boxcar Children, Gertrude Chandler Warner
  123. The Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde, Robert Louis Stevenson
  124. Madeline, Ludwig Bemelmans
  125. Bleachers, John Grisham
  126. The Once and Future King, TH White
  127. Silas Marner, Geroge Eliot
  128. Perfect Chemistry, Simone Elkeles
  129. King Lear, William Shakespeare
  130. Romeo & Juliet, William Shakespeare
  131. Julius Caesar, William Shakespeare
  132. Much Ado About Nothing, William Shakepseare
  133. The Merchant of Venice, William Shakespeare
  134. Othello, William Shakespeare
  135. Richard III, William Shakespeare
    >This might be Shakespeare’s most impressive work, if only for the fact that it’s so pervasive in English culture that it’s pretty much considered truth, regardless of the fact that it’s not. There’s even a society whose only mission is to debunk falsities about Richard III perpetrated by Shakespeare.
  136. Twelfth Night, William Shakespeare
  137. The Tempest, William Shakespeare
  138. The Catcher in the Rye, JD Salinger
  139. Brave New World, Aldous Huxley
  140. Things Fall Apart, Chinua Achebe
  141. All Quiet on the Western Front, Erich Maria Remarque
  142. The Diary of a Young Girl, Anne Frank
  143. Heart of Darkness, Joseph Conrad
  144. The Crucible, Arthur Miller
  145. The Metamorphosis,Franz Kafka
    >Fun fact: This book might be my least favorite of all time. Even just thinking about the opening page makes me cringe and gag. Nope, not for me.
  146. The Glass Menagerie, Tenneessee Williams
  147. The Outsiders, SE Hilton
  148. The Fall of the House of Usher, Edgar Allan Poe
  149. The Tell-Tale Heart, Edgar Allan Poe
  150. The Perks of Being a Wallflower, Stephen Chbosky

 

Now, these are not all of the books I’ve read in my life. Once I hit 150 on this list and still found more when searching, I went through and culled a bit. The books here are ones that I’ve loved and hated, but that have all touched me in some way. I hope you’ve enjoyed looking through them. For me, it’s been fun to think about all of the different stories I’ve read over the years, especially since I’ve been in such a reading funk this year. It’s been rough, but at least I know I’ve got a pretty solid foundation to keep me going.

2 thoughts on “One Hundred Fifty

Leave a Reply

