Uncategorized

My final 2015 Update

Wow, lovely readers! We made it! I did it! I read 15,000 pages in one calendar year.

It was a pretty big accomplishment for me, and to reach my goal in October was a surprise I never could’ve predicted.

But now’s the time to look over how I did overall. In January, I posted a list of my resolutions for this year, and I really hope I’ve kept them!

In 2015, I read 40 books in total. Not too shabby for a pretty busy year. I read 5 YA novels, 26 Children’s Lit novels (I included Harry Potter, Narnia, and Percy Jackson books here, elevating this number by a lot), 8 Fiction novels, 1 Non-fiction novel, 1 memoir, 2 Fiction short stories, and 2 Sci-fi novels. These books and stories accounted for a total of 15, 942 pages! Woot. I wish that number was a little higher, considering my goal was reached in October, honestly. But, I had an extremely busy November – which was highlighted by the fact that I only posted twice.

books3

Looking at last year’s list of resolutions, I did okay. Let’s examine:

  1. Diversifying my genres: Well, I did read more outside of my comfort zone, but probably not as I would have maybe hoped. Reading the non-fiction books were actually a lot of fun, and I’ll definitely be more willing to jump into that genre again soon. I’m also proud of myself for reading the Pierce Brown Red Rising series. I’m not a huge sci-fi person (I prefer fantasy, usually), but this series is just too good to pass up.
  2. Savor my reading: I think this is the resolution I completed most soundly. Throughout this year, I made a point to stop, looking at the lines I was reading, and appreciate them. I talked about those lines a lot on this blog, which was a big reason I savored as much as I did. I also read some truly magical books this year, which definitely helped!
  3. Tackle my to-read list: I would call this a half-completion. I did knock a few books off this list (To Kill a Mockingbird being the most meaningful), but I certainly didn’t put a major dent in it. There are so many great books in the world that I want to read, so I doubt I ever really will!

So that was my 2015 in Books! Thank you all for taking this journey with me! It was a blast, and I’ll be back in 2016 with something new for you very soon!

Leave a Reply

