Uncategorized

A Very Merry Bookmas

So! Christmas has passed – for most of us, anyway. I’ve still got a family celebration on the ninth! – and that means everyone who celebrates has opened their presents and gifted their gifts.

Which begs the question: what books did you give and receive this year, lovely readers?!

I won’t lie, I had a really impressive book haul this year. A lot of great people got me great books.  But I was pretty happy with the books I gave, too.

I gifted*:

To my other half: Raw: My 100% Grade-A, Unfiltered, Inside Look at Sports, Colin Cowherd
>My other half is a big fan of sports radio, and I can’t blame him. As sports fans, radio is a fun way to listen to others’ opinions and learn more about what’s going on in the sports world. It also gives the two of us new things to talk about, even if we don’t know much about whatever issue. He’s a big Cowherd fan, in particular, so when I saw this new book I jumped at it for him.

51nwnrbajvl-_sx329_bo1204203200_51yifrrn4tl-_sy344_bo1204203200_

To my dad: In the Heart of the Sea: The Tragedy of the Whale Ship Essex, Nathaniel Philbrick
>Apparently I liked books with subheaders for this year’s Christmas. My dad is a big fan of classic books, and I know that, despite it taking him forever, he liked Moby Dick. He also enjoys books like The Perfect Storm, so I figured this book fell right into his categories.

*I’ve also gifted one more book that hasn’t actually been given to the recipient yet, so I cannot list it here.

I got:

Man, I got such a great variety of books this year.

image1

From my sister: The Danish Girl, David Ebershoff and Under the Udala Trees, Chinelo Okparanta
>I’m so, so excited about these two books, lovely readers, I cannot even describe it fully. My sister has always picked out incredible books for me to read, and these top the charts. I’ve already started and am plowing through The Danish Girl, which despite having very deep subject matter is quite easy to read, and I’m so excited for Under the Udala Trees for reasons which I will get into in another post soon.

From Santa: Classic American Stories, various authors and The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn and other novels, Mark Twain
>These I’m so excited about almost purely for aesthetic reasons. I love Twain, and the collections of authors and stories in the other are so fantastic. Luckily, I’ve read a bunch of them already! I love the way Barnes & Noble put both of these collections together. It’s always interesting to see the stories people put near each other.

From my bestie Erin: From Homer to Harry Potter: A Handbook on Myth and Fantasy, Matthew T. Dickerson; How to Be a Heroine: Or What I’ve Learned from Reading too Much, Samantha Ellis; Steering the Craft, Ursula Le Guin; and
>So, these four books are all so different in style and function, but they’re all perfect for me! As you’ve all learned, I’m a myth nut, so the Homer to Harry Potter is just pretty incredible. I’ve been interested in reading more memoirs, so the Ellis book is perfect. I love Le Guin as an author and I think she’s probably one of the best to get writing advice from, and *********. Overall, Erin killed it. Just totally got me these great, specific-for-me books.

From my cousin, Topher: The Magic Strings of Frankie Presto, Mitch Albom, and Humans of New York & Humans of New York: Stories, Brandon Stanton
>I put these books, among others, on my Christmas list this year for a lot of reasons. Albom is one of those read-everything authors for me, that’s how much I love his stuff. While at times it can get preachy, his writing is just always so enjoyable for me. The Five People you Meet in Heaven is still one of the best books I’ve ever read. I follow Humans of New York on Facebook and am always amazed by the interviews – and the photos. Brandon Stanton is so great at capturing the right moment for his interviews, I just love the way it all comes together. Having these on my shelf will be a constant reminder of what else is out there.

Pretty amazing, right?! My family and friends found the perfect mix of books for me. Can’t wait to get reading in 2016!

Leave a Reply

