Musings

The Weekend Before Christmas

So, I once again missed yesterday’s Book of Christmas, so I hope you’ll all forgive me when I combine the 7th and 8th Books of Christmas into one post!

My other half and I celebrated Christmas yesterday since we won’t be together, which meant I didn’t have time to get to the blog. Apologies, lovely readers!

Anyway, on the seventh and eighth days of Christmas my true love gave to me…

Seven swans a swimming!

seven-swans-a-swimming-small-file-for-web

and,

Eight maids a milking!

8-maids-a-milking

For our seventh book, I’m gifting a very specific one: the Penguin Clothbound Classic edition of Jane Austen’s CLASSIC Pride and Prejudice.

9780141040349 I love this book, and it’s pretty special to me. I bought it on the first date I had with my wonderful other half. But also, this book is just so gorgeous, and with its swan cover, how could I not recommend this for our seventh book? It’s perfect!

Who to Give it To: Classics lovers. If you know someone who loves Lizzy Bennett and Mr. Darcy, they need to have this edition. Ribbon marker and all, it literally brightens up every bookshelf.

And for our Eight book: Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale

So I’m going a bit feminist with today’s two recs! Lizzy Bennet, the original feminist in Brit Lit, paves the way nicely to Offred, our main character in Handmaid. If you haven’t yet figured it out, I’m recommending this book on this day because of Offred’s occupation as a handmaid. While she may not milk cows, she certainly fits.

Who to Give it To: Any dystopian lover, poli-sci nerd, or budding feminist! This is a pretty incredible book that should be on most people’s shelves. But if you need specifics, this book is great for the people who love Orwell and Huxley. The way the government functions in this book is immensely interesting, and it will make any dystopian lover or political fan think. This book is also incredibly eye-opening. The way women are treated and what they’re used for is so… interesting? Terrifying? that it will make anyone speechless.

Less than a week until Christmas everyone! We’re in the home stretch.

Leave a Reply

