Musings

The Fifth Book!

Lovely readers, I apologize. I was sick yesterday and therefore didn’t post about the fifth book of Christmas. So today you’ll get two of my posts. I know you’re excited.

So! For yesterday’s day, we have…

FIIIIIIIIVE GOLDEN RIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIINGS. Been waiting a few days to write that out, not going to lie.

52bgolden2brings

So, like our fourth book, I knew immediately what book I was recommending for today’s post. Hope you like it as much as I do!

The Book: The one and only, The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkein

article-1351349966972-15b6382e000005dc-266997_636x300

Now, I’m only discussing gifting The Hobbit in this post because I am a heathen and have never finished Tolkein’s trilogy The Lord of the Rings. Whoops. I just can’t get through the first 100 pages of Fellowship!

So I’m only gifting The Hobbit, which is one of my favorite books of all time. I think its’ fairly obvious why I chose this book, by the way. The ring, the all powerful, turns-you-invisible ring, first makes its appearance in The Hobbit in one of my favorite chapters of any book of all time: Riddles. When I was younger, I would literally just read the riddles Bilbo and Gollum trade at random moments, just to remember them. And while, in the original books, there were more than 5 rings forged, we can ignore that minor detail for now 🙂

This is a book that changed my life. I remember giving a book report on it in third grade, literally. But really, more than anything, that first chapter where Bilbo finds Gollum’s ring, Gollum’s precious, is what sealed it for me.

Who to Give it To: ANYONE! Particularly: Fantasy and Classics lovers. There are a lot of people now who love Fantasy, but still haven’t read this classic. Change that! There are also people who don’t necessarily think of Fantasy titles in the “Classic” genre, but this book certainly overlaps. With all of the special editions you can find, gifting a beautifully designed The Hobbit is never a bad idea.

Leave a Reply

