Uncategorized

For the fourth book of Christmas…

We’re inching closer and closer to Christmas, lovely readers! Thank you for sticking by me (I hope) as I journey through the best books to gift this year, based on the classic 12 Days song.

The fourth day of our song brings us to Calling Birds. The easy, easy, easy choice here would have been The Hunger Games series, based on the idea of the Mockingjay, but I decided not to go that route. I hope you enjoy my book rec instead!

4-calling-birds

The Book: The Chronicles of Narnia, C.S. Lewis

So I’m recommending the whole series – because I don’t think you can really gift it out otherwise (I mean, have you SEEN the gorgeous editions available?), but I really am inspired inthis post by two books: The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe and Price Caspian.

These two books are, in my opinion, the strongest of the ones I’ve read (I know, I’m the worst for not finishing this series this year). And they perfectly encapsulate the idea of four calling birds for a couple reasons.

One: There are four siblings. MERP. Simple, easy peasy there. But these siblings, in LWW, essentially find their calling through the Wardrobe to lead Narnia. They learn to fight, they learn about each other, and they learn to rule fairly. It’s by a simple trick that they are called back to the human world we know and (sometimes?) love.

Two: In PC, they are LITERALLY called to Narnia, via Susan’s horn. Caspian, in a time of need, uses the horn to call the kings and queens of old…aka the Pevensie siblings. Once again, they’re called to fight injustice in Narnia and protect their people/animals.

Who to Give it To: The Classics Lover. Like I said before, there are so many awesome editions of this series to gift. Giving this book to a true lover of classic children’s (or any!) lit to ensure they can have it on their shelf is never, ever a bad move.

Day 1: A Partridge in a Pear Tree
Day 2: Two Turtledoves
Day 3: Three French Hens

Leave a Reply

