Uncategorized

Review: Golden Son (non-spoiler)

Lovely readers, I FINISHED A BOOK. I DID IT. I wasn’t sure it’d ever happen again, but it did. I didn’t finish a book in the entire month of September (GAH) but I have officially finished one in October. And it was a GREAT book! I’m so excited to review it for you.

REVIEW: Golden Son, Pierce Brown
Published: 2015
Length: 442

Plot: Two years after the events in the first book, we continue to follow Darrow on his journey to truly infiltrate his world’s ruling class, the Golds.
*Anything else would literally be a spoiler*

Most Memorable Line(s): “And what is the bloodydamn point of surviving in this cold world if I run from the only warmth it has to offer?”
-Such a wonderful moment of introspection from Darrow that reminds us all to be thankful for the warmth we have in our own lives. Sometimes things get rough, but if we push everyone else away, we’re guaranteeing nothing gets better.

What I liked: This book, like its predecessor, was full of incredible twists and turns. I literally felt like I had whiplash at some points. Pierce Brown’s got this incredible ability to be extremely subtle while still packing in so much energy. Sure, the battles are high pressure and fast paced, but it’s the scheming that’s at the heart of this book. Literally everyone’s doing it, and I was never sure who was being honest or what was going on. If we’re being perfectly clear: I’m STILL not sure how he pulled off his miraculous, unexpected ending. This book ends with possible the most perfect cliffhanger in the history of literature. No, I am not exaggerating. I started reading this series because a close friend of mine texted me and BEGGED me to read it so she had someone to talk about this ending with. Not the first book, but the second. How could I say no? Now, probably 6 months after that text, I understand why. She was my first thought, after “Holy fucking shit” when this book ended. I am so excited to see what happens in the final book of the trilogy.

Alright, so there’s my ramble. Let me try to make more sense now. Pierce Brown is an artist with words. He’s created a universe that is so wholly plausible and inconceivable at the same time, and it works because that seems to be the way Darrow, his wonderfully flawed main character, sees it. The personality he’s injected into each separate character is incredibly powerful. No one is without a voice, and that’s because Brown is creative enough for all of them. He keeps the pacing throughout the book perfect – slow at times, but incredibly fast at others. And it’s so effective because it’s easy to manipulate us readers into thinking we understand what’s going on right before he throws another curveball at us (seriously, for the Mets fans like me out there, this book felt like Adam Wainwright’s pitch in 2006.) Golden Son was a book I genuinely enjoyed reading from start to finish, even when I wasn’t pleased with what certain characters were getting up to.

What I didn’t like: On the whole, I’m not a huge fan of violence and gore. And this book has plenty of both. But what else would you expect? It’s literally a book about a guy who’s trying to infiltrate a ruling class to start a revolution. That’s bound to get bloody.

Grade: 9/10 … A bit too violent at times for my personal taste, but just a brilliant showing of writing chops with the most incredible twists and turns.

5 thoughts on “Review: Golden Son (non-spoiler)

  1. I have had this on my TBR for far too long. I had mixed feelings about Red Rising, but I have heard great things about this sequel…I need to get to this ASAP!

    Like

    1. What were your feelings on Red Rising?! The one thing I will say, if it’s been a while since you read Red Rising, make sure you keep the character list close by. At the beginning I really needed a quick refresher on characters. This book is definitely worth the read though.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It actually has been a little while since I read Red Rising so thank you for your suggestion 🙂 I remember really enjoying the first half of the novel and learning about Darrow as a character, but then things started to slow down and it also started to feel very familiar, as if I had read something similar to it recently. I just started to lose interest about half way through. I did manage to finish it though.

        Like

      2. Interesting! I do understand the way some of the “battles” in Red Rising could become familiar during the course of the book. There are so many different aspects of Golden Son, though, that I really recommend it. Darrow also grows so much as a character, it’s fun to read him.

        Like

Leave a Reply

