Musings

100!

The other day’s post about literary pets was my One Hundredth post on FifteenThousandPages! How exciting!

To celebrate reaching my 101st post today, I’m going to name and discuss (some of) my 100 favorite characters that I’ve read throughout my 25 years!*

I was actually surprised at how hard compiling this list was. I really tried to broaden my view and think about the books I haven’t read in years and the ones half read on my desk or bookshelf, as well as the ones I pick up and read once or twice a year. Obviously 100 is a big number, but I had figured the names would come to me easily. They didn’t. I started working on this post WELL before I actually made my 100th post on Fifteen Thousand Pages. And it’s definitely the reason I’ve been writing less since I came back from London. Whoops! But, I did it. I made it to the finish line, and I’m pretty proud of the result. I think this list is a great representation of the different things I’ve read and enjoyed over my lifetime, and I hope you’ll all give me suggestions of what books I should read over my next 25 years!

*(Forgive me for clumping lots of similar book characters together, this was a very stream of conscious type of list!)

So without further ado:
Danielle’s 100 Favorite Literary Characters,
in No Particular Order After Number 5
!

  1. Hermione Granger (Harry Potter series)
    Hermione Granger is, if you haven’t noticed, my favorite book character of all time. We’ve discussed this. She changed things for me – she made it cool to be smart, to like books, to hang out with mostly boys and still just be their friends. I am who I am in part because Hermione showed me it’s okay. Gotta love her.
  2. Precious Moments boy (Put on A Happy Face)
    I actually am not sure of this little character’s name, it’s been so long since I’ve read this book. HOWEVER, this character, who travels with his dog and finds his place in a circus, is from the first book I ever remember (truly remember) being given as a gift, when I was in daycare at about 2 years old. I loved him, because he searched for his happy place – and was so cute!
  3. Lizzy Bennett (Pride and Prejudice)
    Lizzy Bennett is essentially the grown up (and predecessor of) Hermione Granger. She’s sassy, intelligent, and knows in her heart who she truly is. I read this book for the first time a little less than two years ago – and she was just someone I truly admired. She stood up to the “patriarchy” like a true feminist would! Hah But honestly, THAT SASS. It was inspiring.
  4. Guy Montag (Fahrenheit 451)
    Are you sensing a theme here? All of my favorite characters are people who have been true to themselves in the face of literally whatever else they’ve got to deal with. Fun fact: the first time I read this book at 14, I hated it – mostly I think because we watched the movie to go with it and that just… did nothing for me. When I revisited the book at 18, I fell in love. What a beautiful SciFi novel about the importance of books and being present in life. Guy’s personal/moral dilemmas were so poignant and real, I couldn’t help but admire him.
  5. Bilbo Baggins (The Hobbit)
    Bilbo was one of the first characters to ever take me on an adventure. My dad started reading this book to me when I was about 4 or 5, and it ended up being a book I did a book report on in 3rd grade, so I’ve loved this story for a long time. Again, Bilbo does what he needs to do for himself, but he also is an incredibly selfless hobbit throughout the story. He also partakes in possibly my favorite literary chapter I’ve ever read, Chapter 5. “Riddles.” 
  6. Ron Weasley (Harry Potter series)
  7. Minerva McGonagall (Harry Potter series)
  8. Sirius Black (Harry Potter series)
  9. Remus Lupin (Harry Potter series)
  10. Percy Jackson (Percy Jackson & The Olympians/Heroes of Olympus series)
  11. Annabeth Chase (Percy Jackson & The Olympians/Heroes of Olympus series)
  12. Dexter (This Lullaby)
  13. Owen Armstrong (Just Listen)
  14. Phileas Fogg (Around the World in 80 Days)
  15. Rhapsody (Rhapsody)
  16. Mr. Darcy (Pride and Prejudice)
  17. Frankenstein’s Creature (Frankenstein)
  18. Frank (5 People you Meet in Heaven)
    Frank is a beautiful character in a beautiful story. Everything about how he reacted to the people he met made me fall more and more in love with his story.
  19. Neville Longbottom (Harry Potter series)
  20. Gale (Hunger Games series)
  21. Haymitch (Hunger Games series)
  22. Pocket (Fool & The Serpent of Venice)
  23. Iago (Othello)
  24. Beatrice (Much Ado About Nothing)
  25. Scupper (The Sailor Dog)
    One of my favorite books from my childhood, Scupper was an adorable dog who proved that perseverance, hard work and ingenuity will always lead to success.
  26. Clare Abshire (The Time Traveler’s Wife)
  27. Henry DeTamble (The Time Traveler’s Wife)
  28. Jay Gatsby (The Great Gatsby)
  29. Leo Valdez (Heroes of Olympus series)
  30. Molly Weasley (Harry Potter series)
  31. Arthur Weasley (Harry Potter series)
  32. Hagrid (Harry Potter series)
  33. Jen (S.)
    So Jen and Eric (below) from S. are such interesting characters because of the novel itself. Seeing Jen & Eric’s stories and lives and flaws come together in the margins of another fictional book was pretty magical and insane. I thought Jen, in particular, was really well done. With Eric’s cynicism, Jen brought such a vibrancy to the story.
  34. Eric (S.)
  35. Othello (Othello)
  36. Kino (The Pearl)
    A purely brilliant novella from Steinbeck, Kino and his story represents the best and worst about family, discovery, and greed.
  37. Lenny (Of Mice and Men)
  38. Sherlock Holmes (Sherlock Holmes stories)
  39. John Watson (Sherlock Holmes stories)
  40. Robert Langdon (Dan Brown books)
  41. Pi Patel (Life of Pi)
    Pi shows incredible courage, heart, and grief in this book. He’s easily one of the best written characters in modern times.
  42. Mad Hatter (Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland)
  43. Silas Marner (Silas Marner)
  44. Lucy Pevensie (The Chronicles of Narnia)
  45. Death (The Book Thief)
  46. Celia Bowen (The Night Circus)
  47. Bailey (The Night Circus)
    Bailey’s story line in this book really brought it all together for me. He was the perfect character to add to the story, with his innocence and curiosity.
  48. Alice Cullen (Twilight Saga)
  49. Jasper Hale (Twilight Saga)
  50. Richard III (Richard III)
  51. Achilles (The Iliad)
  52. Eo (Red Rising trilogy)
    For a character who has very little page time, Eo’s presence is strongly felt. She’s inspiring even when she’s not “on screen.”
  53. Max (Where the Wild Things Are)
  54. Ella (Ella Enchanted)
  55. Jesse Tuck (Tuck Everlasting)
  56. Winnie (Tuck Everlasting)
  57. Fili and Kili (The Hobbit)
  58. Corduroy (Corduroy)
  59. Tigger (Adventures of Winnie the Pooh)
  60. Winnie the Pooh (Adventures of Winnie the Pooh)
  61. Ponyboy Curtis (The Outsiders)
  62. Dally (The Outsiders)
  63. Daisy (The Great Gatsby)
  64. Hester Prynne (The Scarlet Letter)
  65. Beezlebub (Paradise Lost)
    This character shows Milton’s mastery of writing. To create a sympathetic devil is so impressive, and honestly, Beezlebub IS sympathetic in this epic poem. He’s awesome.
  66. Jekyll & Hyde (The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll & Mr. Hyde)
  67. Huckleberry Finn (The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn)
  68. Basil (The Picture Dorian Gray)
  69. Dorian Gray (The Picture of Dorian Gray)
  70. Clarisse (Fahrenheit 451)
  71. George (Curious George)
  72. Jessie Alden (The Boxcar Children series)
  73. Benny Alden (The Boxcar Children series)
  74. Snowman (Oryx & Crake)
  75. Crakers (Oryx & Crake)
  76. Offred (Handmaid’s Tale)
    This book, and particularly Offred’s inner thoughts, literally changed the way I thought after reading it. It’s a must read, in my opinion.
  77. Adam (Where She Went)
  78. Mia (If I Stay)
  79. Gus (The Fault in Our Stars)
  80. Isaac (The Fault in Our Stars)
  81. Macy (The Truth About Forever)
  82. Annabelle (Just Listen)
  83. Auden (Along for the Ride)
  84. Tobias/Four (Divergent)
  85. Arya (The Inheritance Cycle)
  86. Eragon (The Inheritance Cycle)
  87. Jessica (The Serpent of Venice)
    So I know Jessica is actually from The Merchant of Venice (aka one of my favorite Shakespeare plays), but I LOVED Christopher Moore’s interpretation of her in this book. She’s smart, sassy, and open to love.
  88. Norman (Keeping the Moon)
  89. Isabel  (Keeping the Moon)
  90. Ruby (Lock & Key)
  91. Luna Lovegood (Harry Potter series)
  92. Amelia Bedelia (Amelia Bedelia series)
  93. Rainbow Fish (The Rainbow Fish)
  94. Fairy Godmother (Cinderella)
  95. Grover Underwood (Percy Jackson & The Olympians)
  96. Madeline (Madeline)
  97. Wendy Darling (Peter Pan)
  98. Amy Dunne (Gone Girl)
    Okay, so I don’t necessarily *like* Amy, but her character is AMAZING in this novel. What an incredible feat by Gillian Flynn – to make such a despicable character so fascinating. 
  99. Sir Bertrand (Sir Bertrand: A Fragment)
  100. Rumplestiltskin (Rumplestiltskin)

WOW! I did it! That was really, really hard, and I’m sure I missed a bunch of fantastic characters! But I think, overall, that this is a pretty comprehensive list of characters I’ve enjoyed throughout my life, for sure. If you want to know more about why I love who I love, just ask!

So tell me, lovely readers, who are your favorite characters from any and all books?

One thought on “100!

  1. In no particular order my favorite 5 as of today (I think lists like this often change depending on moods and the position of the moon) are:

    1. Lizzy Bennet – Pride and Prejudice – She was awesome and would rather live single than settle for someone who was less than perfect for her. I wish more people would think like that.

    2. Ester – Violent Land, Jorge Amado – Her story was incredibly gut wrenchingly sad to me. While reading the book I grew attached to her and would hope that something would improve, it didn’t. She was one of those characters that I would find myself daydreaming alternate realities for her because I felt that she deserved better. Damn you Amado!! 😉

    3. Ron Weasley – Harry Potter series – Ron is hilarious and of all the characters in the series I think his grew the most, empathetically speaking, from the beginning of book one to the end of book 7.

    4. Dr. Jonathan Hullah – The Cunning Man, Roberston Davies – I liked his character and his empathetic approach to medicine and treatment of his patients.

    5. The Velveteen Rabbit – I have no idea if this book affected how I saw my stuff animals or if I was drawn to this book and its main character as a child because of how I saw my stuff animals. Either way, I loved that rabbit and I am a more empathetic person because of his story.

    🙂

    Congrats on your 100 plus posts!! You are doing an amazing job with the blog and your goal! love following you progress! <3!

    Like

Leave a Reply

