Reviews

The Titan’s Curse Review

It’s August! That means this blog has been up and running for just about 11 months. CRAZY.I hope I am keeping you all sufficiently entertained.

So as you guys know, I’m trying to read A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur’s Court… but I keep getting distracted.

A couple weeks ago, my Rick Riordan books started calling my name – particularly the third in the original series, The Titan’s Curse. So, because I have no willpower, I picked it up and read it. (Then I read the next two… but I’ll talk about that later!).

It’s taken me quite a few days to really get to reviewing it, and I’m not exactly sure why, but here we are.

NOTE: IF YOU’VE NEVER READ THESE BOOKS AND DON’T WANT TO KNOW THE PLOT OF THE THIRD BEFORE YOU’VE READ THE FIRST… MAYBE SKIP THIS ENTRY!?

REVIEW: The Titan’s Curse, Rick Riordan (Percy Jackson and the Olympians #3)
Published: 2007
Length: 236

Plot: When demigod Percy Jackson and his friends, Annabeth and Thalia, go to a Maine military school, they expect to help their friend, Grover the satyr, bring two powerful demigods to Camp Half-Blood. But when things go wrong, Annabeth is kidnapped, and Percy, Thalia, and Grover are left with the immortal Hunters of Artemis – a group of maidens who pledge themselves to the goddess and swear off boys forever – while the goddess “goes hunting.” When Artemis is kidnapped, Percy follows those on the quest to save her – so he can find Annabeth.

Most Memorable Line(s): “Let us find the dam snack bar,” Zoe said. “We should eat while we can.”
-This quote is great, because it spills off into a lot of “dam” jokes. I loved its addition, because it highlighted that these characters are supposed to be young teens – 14, 15, 16 at most! I’m almost 25 and I still find those jokes funny when I reread them. I love when you really see the reality of teen life in these books – yeah, they’re saving their friend and an immortal goddess, but funny is still funny.

A fan’s rendering of the “dam snack bar” scene.

What I liked: Everything! This book focused a lot on Annabeth, who is my favorite character, despite the fact that she wasn’t actually present for much of the book. Obviously in the first two, Percy and Annabeth grow from reluctant allies to true, best friends, and I love seeing how much Percy cares about her -which obviously hints at something more serious than friends. Anyway, there was something about this quest that just felt, elevated, to me over the others. As though these characters really were growing up – Percy in particular. There was more nuance, and it very much had a direct impact on the to-be-dealt-with-later Great Prophecy. I loved the inclusion of the Hunters of Artemis. We’ve seen for two books the way that the Olympians treat (or ignore) their mortal children. This is a totally different look on a way to honor an Olympian. I love that we see quite a few of the Olympians (that we don’t see often) in this book as well – more than first two, anyway. We see Athena, Ares, Aphrodite, Artemis and Apollo. This book was the first time I felt the weight of the complete Greek mythos -we had Titans, Gods, demigods, Hunters. All had a stake in the outcome of the quest.

What I didn’t like: I do wish Nico, one of the two demigods Percy, Annabeth, and Thalia were going to recover, hadn’t been SUCH an annoying 10-year-old. I also wish he and Bianca, his sister, would’ve been twins rather than him being 2 years younger. I understood that he was young, and therefore acted like a child would, but for the progression of the series? I wish he’d have been older and less annoying when we first met him.

Grade: 10/10 … While I have my personal feelings about Nico, I don’t think there’s anything that could actually be improved in this book. Riordan seamlessly weaves myths and modernity and brings his character development up a notch in the third installment. While I don’t like Nico’s character in the book, he’s done well, and right (as much as I hate to admit it), for the story.

Leave a Reply

