Musings

Sisterhood of the World Blogger Fun Time!

So I’m not going to lie, I love these little questionnaire things that bloggers nominate each other for. One of the reasons I started this blog was to get other people interested in my “quest” and to see what other people had to say about reading and all of that stuff as well.

TODAY, I’m finally answering Bookish Barrister blogger Abby’s nomination to do the “Sisterhood of the World” Blogger award. I feel empowered, and it’s only Tuesday. I needed this, thanks Abby!

RULES:

1. Thank the blogger who nominated you and link to their blog.

2. Answer the questions that the blogger who nominated you has provided.

3. Nominate ten FOUR other bloggers

4. Create ten questions for your nominees and notify them of their nomination.

My Questions from Abby…

1. Where do you live (general area or even country is fine, I am not stalking you ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) and what is your favorite/least favorite thing about it?
-I’m from New York! Originally from about an hour north of NYC, I now live in Albany, the capital city. Albany’s great because you definitely still get some of the city feel without all of the “city” congestion and crowds. However, I would love to live somewhere without humidity.

2. What book are you planning to read next and why did you choose that one?
-I just started reading A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur’s Court! I’m really excited to get into it. I enjoy Mark Twain and I love King Arthur stories/legends/mythology. I’ve read a lot of contemporary and YA things lately, so reading a “classic” will be nice.

3. Do you have any special or unique family traditions (or traditions with friends)ย you want to share?
-Well, I guess the one thing that really qualifies for this is that when I was growing up, my Nana and Pop-Pop always had a sign that said “Merry Christmas [year]” and I loved it because they’d just tape a new piece of paper over the last digit. This past year, my second Christmas living on my own, I made my own sign! It was way smaller than the original one, but it was still nice to have around.

4. What do you think is your best quality?
-Everything! I’m awesome. No, wait, just kidding. I would say I’m very caring. I genuinely want people around me to be happy, and I work to make sure that’s the case.

5. What author would you most want to meet and why?
-I really would love to meet JK Rowling. She’s just pure genius. I’d love to sit and talk with her about all of the intricacies of the Potterverse.

6. What are some things you hope to do this summer (besides read a lot)?
Kayak! I’m actually very lucky to have a lot of fun trips planned this year – my boyfriend and I just went to Rhode Island for a long weekend and next month we’re taking a long trip to visit friends in London – but something I want to do more around NY is just go kayak. I love kayaking, and last summer unfortunately I didn’t get to go at all because of political races I was volunteering on.

7. Where in the world would you most like to travel to and why?
-I’m going to answer this with a place I want to go but have never been. There are two places, really. I’d really love to go to California in the good ol’ US of A. I want to see the Pacific Ocean, and the Redwoods, and the Napa Wine Valley. But, if we’re talking abroad, I want to go to Ireland! The [other] land of my people! I was able to visit Italy with my family last year, and would love to get to experience the same feeling with Ireland. I want to see the green grass and the clovers and the drinking and the fun.

8. Have you recently read a book that everyone else seemed to love but you just couldnโ€™t get into?
-I really wasn’t a huge fan of the last book I read, Hunter S. Thompson’s The Rum Diary. I know that Thompson is supposed to be this amazing writer, and he clearly is, but that book was just not great. Quite a few people I worked with were surprised I was reading it, as they know Thompson’s not quite my style. They love him though, so I felt a little bad letting them down.

9. What is your current occupation, or, if youโ€™re a student, what are you studying, and how do you feel about it?
I’m an editor! Which is what I’ve always wanted to do. It’s not exactly where I expected though – I edit press and media for the NYS Assembly, rather than editing bestsellers with Penguin Random House. I’m still in my 20s though, much more to come!

10. What toppings do you like on your pizza?
-Almost everything. I like pepperoni, buffalo chicken, extra cheese, but my favorite favorite is peppers & onions. Always has been.

My nominated bloggers are….

Ashley from Food and Stuff (Ashley and I went to college together, and her blog is as awesome as she is. You should all check it out.)

Brittany from BrittanyMarieReads

WBG from That Weird Brown Girl (aka best username ever of GryffindorQueen)

Danielle at Inked Words and Wrinkles

And their questions will be…

1. What’s a book you’ve read that you expected not to like, but ended up enjoying?
2. Do you have siblings, or are you an only child? Did you wish for anything different growing up?
3. If you could be in any tv show or movie franchise, what would it be?
4. What is your spirit animal aka patronus?
5. What’s your favorite joke?
6. If you could change the ending to any book, what would it be and why?
7. Are you more Type A or Type B personality? Do you prefer lists, schedules, and making plans? Or do you just let the wind blow and see where it takes you?
8. Do you prefer to dress up or down on a regular basis?
9. Do you prefer poetry or prose?
10. What was the last thing you ate?

That’s a pretty good variety I think! Enjoy, friends and lovely readers!

7 thoughts on “Sisterhood of the World Blogger Fun Time!

    1. Of course! I’ll edit the post and elaborate there as well – I mean personality types. Type A is generally more focused, driven, organized, and uptight, while Type B people tend to let things flow more, are less anxious, and seem generally calmer. For example: I am SO unbelievably Type A. I like schedules, I like making plans, I’m super competitive (with everything…) and tend to be a perfectionist.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

