Musings

The Art of Multi-reading

I think I just coined a new phrase. Multi-reading: when one can easily read multiple books at a time, seamlessly switching between books/plots when one desires.

For me, this very much ties in to the debate about abandoning books. Many times, I’ll start reading a book when I’m still reading another book as a way to very specifically NOT abandon the first book I was reading. But then my guilt complex kicks in, and even if I’m enjoying the new book better, I’ll wonder if I should have just stuck with my initial read.

Sometimes, I end up abandoning the first book altogether. But many times I do go back after I’ve had some time to clear my head.

So what does it take to be a multi-reader? If I’m being honest, I’m still not quite sure I’ve got what it takes! These are the things I think you need to have when jumping between books:

1. BOOKMARKS: Do you guys have any idea how many books I’ve abandoned because I don’t put bookmarks in? It’s too many. I tend to just “remember the page number!” I’m not a big dogearring fan, but a lot of times I don’t have anything with me that will suffice as a bookmark. So I just think of the page number. However, when you’re trying to juggle three books, remembering which page number goes to which book gets a little difficult.

2. An analytical mind: So this is a subjective thing, I guess. But I think being more analytical helps with multi-reading. Why? Because analytical people tend to separate things out in their minds. They compartmentalize. Being able to separate the different plots, characters, themes, conflicts, etc. of different books while you’re reading them is pretty important because mixing up what happens in wildly different books is not going to make the reading go any quicker.

3. Lots of time: Reading is time consuming. That’s just a fact. When you’re jumping between multiple books – whether it’s because you’re loving all of them or trying to avoid one or more – you need the time to be able to read them. If you don’t have the time to juggle multiple, so you only read one, well, you’re not really multi-reading. You’re just procrastinating on one while you read the other(s).

So what do you think, lovely readers? Do you multi-read? Or are you strictly a one-book-at-a-time person? What else would you say you need to multi-read? Let me know in the comments!

3 thoughts on “The Art of Multi-reading

  1. I think I’m going to start using ‘multi-reading’ to describe it too! I’ll often have two books on the go, rarely three though. But sometimes you’re just not in the mood for a certain book so you need a back up. The more different the two books the better

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

