Reviews

Through the Wardrobe

So I’m chugging along reading the Chronicles of Narnia. I’m currently on Book 4, Prince Caspian. I’m a little behind on the reviews though, sorry! I’m getting to them, I promise. I also took a slight detour with another book recently, so there is a plethora of writing to be done by me on the blog! It’s going to happen, I promise.

Reading The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe was an interesting experience for me. It’s one of the only CoN books I’ve read before, but not for close to 15 years. (Oh god, is that possible?) I was really excited to really get into Narnia, since The Magician’s Nephew had such a newly-developed world. Also, I can shamelessly say I LOVE LOVE LOVE the movie adaptation, so there’s that.

So here we go:

REVIEW: The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe, C.S. Lewis
Published: 1950
Length: 189

Plot: During WWII, Siblings Peter, Susan, Edmond, and Lucy Pevensie are sent to live with an old Professor. One day, Lucy stumbles across an old, beautiful wardrobe, and inside, finds a magical world called Narnia. At first, her siblings don’t believe the other world exists. When they finally see it for themselves, however, they realize they are instrumental to ridding the land of its evil usurper, the White Witch. After a betrayal, the siblings must learn to work together and trust Aslan, the great Lion, to defeat their foe. Adventure ensues.

Most Memorable Line(s): As with the first one, this novel didn’t have a stand-out line to me. Whoops.

What I liked: Okay, so I’ve got to say that I enjoyed this one immensely more than The Magician’s Nephew. However, and I know this is sacrilege, I think I liked the movie better. (I’ll stand here while you all admonish me, it’s okay). This book is full of magic, which makes it great. The four Pevensies are each fairly well rounded, despite Lewis’ limited view of females. I liked Jadis much more in this one, as well. Here, she’s a real evil villain and queen, rather than a fairly whiny and demanding woman. I really enjoy the range of animals and mythological creatures that Lewis inserted into this one. I love feeling that Narnia just has everything, except humans! I also love the Professor in this. I love that they explain what happens to him and how he helps them understand what’s gone one.

What I didn’t like: I think this is just going to bother me throughout the series, so I won’t write it any more after this… but the writing is so simple. Lewis really fleshed out Narnia in this one, but there was still something that, for me, was missing. Obviously, this is a children’s book, but I’ve read many children’s books that seem to have more layers of depth in their writing than Lewis has in his.

Grade: 7.5/10… for a frustratingly simple writing style but a wonderfully magical story.

Leave a Reply

