Musings

Gotta Read ‘Em All

There’s a thing that tends to happen when you read YA and genre fiction. You read a lot of series. As someone who studied English Lit in college, “Literature” (capital L, snooty voice) seems to be made up of fantastic stand alone books. When you look to Children’s, YA, sci-fi, fantasy, however, you see a lot of series. I’ve never quite understood why that is, if I’m being honest. And I’ve never been one to enjoy the snootiness that often comes with people who read “Literature.” People who tend to read JUST “Lit” don’t seem to remember that books, while they often times reflect back to us the human condition, are just as much about ENTERTAINMENT and FUN and JOY. I like entertainment and fun and joy. So I read YA, and Children’s Lit, and other things outside of “Lit” (which I do enjoy very much, as well.) And let’s not pretend that YA is all rainbows and butterflies, because it’s not. Neither is Children’s.

So now that that’s out of the way, to the point of that little rant:
A few weeks ago, I read a post on Can’t Stop Won’t Stop Books about all of the series she’s read, began and plans to finish, and began and abandoned. It looked fun to figure all that out and analyze, so I’m stealing the idea! (With credit, of course).

Series I’ve Finished
Harry Potter, JK Rowling
Percy Jackson and the Olympians, Rick Riordan
Heroes of Olympus, Rick Riordan
The Hunger Games Trilogy, Suzanne Collins,
The Twilight Saga, Stephenie Meyer,
The Inheritance Cycle, Christopher Paolini
Symphony of Ages Series (original trilogy), Elizabeth Haydon

Series I’ve Started (And Will Finish, By Golly!)
The Chronicles of Narnia, CS Lewis
The Earthsea Cycle (Original Trilogy), Ursula K. LeGuin
The Lord of the Rings, JRR Tolkein
Shades of London, Maureen Johnson
The Shadow of the Wind Trilogy (not sure of its real name!?), Carlos Ruiz Zafon
The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

Series I Probably Won’t Ever Finish
Zodiac Series, Romina Russell
-This series had a lot of promise for me, but some things that happened in the first book really don’t make me want to continue reading this one. Although I am intrigued, it’s way down my list at this point.
Perfect Chemistry Series, Simone Elkeles
-This is a case of “too much of a good thing.” I loved Perfect Chemistry, thought it was such a great star-crossed love story, and was a little like “wtf?” when I saw that she had MULTIPLE other books that followed it. There’s just no desire to continue with it, for me.

I feel like I’m missing more from this…

Honorable Mentions: Completed Universes
So these two aren’t technically “series” of books – they’re all stand alones that exist within a specific universe, either with the same characters or setting.
Robert Langdon novels, Dan Brown
Lakeview/Colby novels (aka all of them), Sarah Dessen
-I’ve talked about both of these authors on the blog before, so it should come as no surprise that I’ve completed all 11 (soon to be 12!!) of Sarah Dessen’s novels, as well as all of the Robert Langdon thrillers from Dan Brown.

So there we go! Overall I’ve read, in some part, of 15 different series of books. That’s quite a few, though not nearly as many as other people I know. And then there’s the 2 Universes. So we’ll go with an “even” 17.  I feel like I’m missing some though! It’s very weird. This may be updated…

Leave a Reply

