Musings

Liebster Award!

First things first, thanks to Allie over at The Excellent Library for nominating me for the Liebster Award. If I’m being PARTICULARLY honest, I don’t totally know what the Liebster Award is…but it seems to be a fun thing and I’m super excited that Allie wanted to know more about me. So thanks girl! Make sure to check out the blog she and Libby have, because it’s really awesome.

Rules:

  • link back and thank the blogger(s) who nominated you.
  • answer the eleven questions they give you
  • tag up to eleven bloggers who have 200 or less followers
  • ask your nominees eleven questions and let them know you tagged them!

IMG_3216

Allie’s Questions:

  1. What is your favorite book that you were required to read in school?
    This is a toss up between Life of Pi and Frankenstein. Fahrenheit 451 could be on the list, but I didn’t really appreciate that book until after I graduated. I’ll probably have to go with Frankenstein, because if I didn’t love that… I may not have even gotten to the point where I read Life of Pi.
  2. If you’re not enjoying a book, do you abandon it or force yourself to finish it?
    I’m a serial book abandoner. I try so hard not to! But I am. I just cannot force myself to stay in a book if I’m not enjoying it. Especially when I know there are so many out there that I DO enjoy!
  3. What’s your favorite quote from a book?
    “Let us step out into the night and pursue that flighty temptress, Adventure.” -Albus Dumbledore, Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince
  4. What book did you think you would love but didn’t?
    I really, really thought I’d love this new YA book that came out late last year called Zodiac. I think astrology is really cool! And the whole concept seemed right up my alley. Unfortunately, I felt the book was just… amateur.
  5. If you could choose two authors to write a book together, which authors would you choose?
    I would love love love to see Sarah Dessen and Mary Shelley right a book together. That would just be the CRAZIEST book ever! A brilliant contemporary YA author with the young woman who wrote the best gothic novel of all time? Yes please. I’d love to see how some of Dessen’s girls could handle Shelley’s plot points.
  6. What’s your favorite movie based on a book?
    You know what’s funny? So many more movies are based on books than people realize. My mind immediately jumped to the obvious ones – Disney princesses, Harry Potter (ugh, most of those movies…), etc. – BUT. Then I realized! Slumdog Millionaire and the Secret Life of Walter Mitty were both books! Those movies are AWESOME. So I’m choosing Slumdog. That movie is just pure brilliance.
  7. Do you prefer real books or ebooks? Paperbacks or hardcovers?
    Real books all the way. I read on screens all day for work, and end up getting pretty bad headaches from it. I know that everyone says Kindles and Nooks aren’t like that…but they still are screens. Just not my thing.
  8. What book (or series) would you like to see as a movie?
    I would love to see more of Sarah Dessen’s novels as movies. How To Deal was awesome (and a combo of two of hers), and I think This Lullaby or Just Listen would be AWESOME as movies.
  9. Who is your all-time favorite author?
    All-time? Well, I feel like it’s gotta be the stereotypical choice: J.K. Rowling. Harry Potter changed my life and continued pushing me down the path of a book lover. I don’t want to know where I’d be without them.
  10. If you had to be a character in the last book you read, which one would you be, and why?
    The last book I read?!? Of course it was post-apocalyptic. I’d be protagonist Hig, ultimately, because his optimism was really something I could relate to.
  11. You have to kiss, marry, and kill three different characters from your favorite book. Which characters would you choose?
    Hm, well what’s my favorite book!? I literally think that answer changes every time I get the question. I can’t really choose. So my other half has chosen for me, and he says Frankenstein (oh, great…) So… we’re going to go with…
    Kiss: Elizabeth – she deserves one. Marry: Frankenstein’s Creature – a gentle being that just wants a companion? I could live with that. Kill: V. Frankenstein- he wants to be with his dead mom anyway.

Okay! Those were fun questions 🙂 Thank you, Allie!

My nominees are: Pale Chick Studios, WhyWeLikeReading, Can’t Stop Won’t Stop Books, and Book Guy Review, for now!

My eleven questions:
1. What’s the first book you remember reading/being read to you?
2. Do you enjoy social reading (book clubs) or prefer reading on your own?
3. What sequel did you find better than the original?
4. What book knocked down stereotypes you had about a genre?
5. Do you prefer fiction or nonfiction?
6. Where is your favorite place to read?
7. Does any book have particular sentimental value to you?
8. Which two characters (from different books) would you want to see interact in a story?
9. If you could have dinner with any 3 authors, who would they be? (dead or alive)
10. Are you a fast reader or do you savor your books?
11. How many books do you read on average per year?

One thought on “Liebster Award!

  1. Awww, I’ve been so behind on my blogging that I’ve just read this now! You’re so sweet, and I loved your answer to #11 – such a funny book choice!

    Like

Leave a Reply

