Musings

“I’m Going on an Adventure!”

So as some of you know, I live in NY’s Capital Region. I was expecting over a foot of snow when I woke up this morning, but was greeted with only a dusting. Unlike many in NYC and those going to school, I was not granted a snow day. Boo on you, bosses!

Of course, as I was at work the weather got progressively worse, leaving a slushy disgustingness to drive home through. While I was in the white out at work, however, I stumbled across this Huffington Post article titled “Best Snow Day Reads: 19 Page-Turners to Enjoy While Snowed In.” Naturally, I checked it out. Mostly made up of thrillers and non-fiction titles, I thought it was a pretty good list.

But what about for kids? Or for adults, like me, who love YA and Children’s books? Since I didn’t see the list pre-made, I figured it was best if I came up with my own.

At that point, however, I had really missed the boat on relevant “snow day” postings. But that doesn’t mean that I can’t utilize this awesome list of adventure books!

So here it is, my YA(ish) Adventure List. I’m sure you’ve seen many of these on lists before, but I think that they’re the right reads to journey through while you’re stuck at home, or anywhere else! (These are also in no particular order.)

1. Eragon, Christopher Paolini
-This book, the first in a 4-part series, has everything you need for adventure. The story begins as 15-year old Eragon finds a “polished stone” in a portion of the mountains known as the Spine. Little does he know: it’s a dragon egg! What more is needed for an adventure, really? When Eragon is marked with a silver palm, he officially becomes a Dragon Rider – and his fate completely changes. When his uncle is murdered by an evil race known as the Ra’zac, Eragon, accompanied by town storyteller Brom go after them in revenge. What happens next? Well, you’ll have to read to find out!

-image from Wiki

2. The Lightning Thief, Rick Riordan
-How many times will I talk Rick Riordan? I almost want to apologize, except he’s awesome. And so is Percy Jackson. The Lightning Thief is where we first meet Percy and learn to love his sassy, independent ways. Plus, he travels from NYC to LA via train, plane and automobile (mostly) and meets some new friends along the way!

-image from Google/Hypable

3. A Wizard of Earthsea, Ursula LeGuin
-This book is extremely special to me. A gift from my dad a few years ago, I have yet to read a book like it since. LeGuin’s writing style is so unique, she finds a way to make extraordinary happenings seem every day in the way that she constructs truly amazing worlds. In this story, we follow the wizard Ged, and learn how he became to be the most powerful wizard in the land.

-image from Wiki

4. Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist, David Levithan and Rachel Cohn
-Probably the most “realistic” book on this list, Nick and Norah is the perfect story for teens. Learning to let go, trust yourself, and be open to new experiences is something we all need a refresher in every once and a while. As Nick and Norah race around NYC, despite having only just met (though they have one particular mutual friend), in search of their favorite band is bound to bring a smile to your face.

image from Google

5. The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe, C.S. Lewis
-Who doesn’t love the journey through the coat closet? True story, I have a giant coat closet in my apartment and more than once have thought “Well if I just walk to the back, maybe it would happen…” Sadly, it hasn’t. The 4 kids’ adventure in this book is a classic in every sense of the word.

-image from Google

6. Peter Pan, J.M. Barrie
-Growing up is hard. No one likes it, really. That’s why everyone LOVES Peter Pan. To follow Peter, Tink, and his Shadow to Neverland is something all teens (and adults!) wish they could do. Darker (more angsty?) than the wonderful Disney movie, this story is the perfect read for when you’re stuck inside – trust me! I read it for the first time stuck without power during Superstorm Sandy.

-image from Penguin.au

7. Classic Fairy Tales, Iona and Peter Opie
-There’s enough adventure packed into this compilation to last a life time. Whether we’re reading of a prince fighting his way to wake up a maiden from a 100-year sleep, or a fairy godmother transforming a girl into a princess, there’s something here for everyone. The nice moral lessons don’t hurt, either.

-image from Google

8. The Adventures of Huckeberry Finn, Mark Twain
-A quintessential American tale? Perhaps, but Huck and Jim’s trip down the river is so much more than just that adventure. A unique lesson (now, anyway) about the prejudices in the country’s past are packed into a novel that is suspenseful, fun, and ultimately, real.

-image from Google

9. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, JK Rowling
-In an adventure-packed series (that also happens to be my favorite of all time), I had to go with the fourth, and longest, book for this list. Obviously, if you’ve yet to read them, you should start back at one. But for the veterans like me, GoF is the perfect one to sink into and be whisked away into a magical world.

-image from Google

10. The Hobbit, JRR Tolkein
-Another deeply special book to me, this story really cultivated my love of reading. As someone who’s smaller than most, a story of a halfling going on a journey with drawfs to battle a dragon to take back a mountain full of treasure is certainly something I can get behind! Short people are people too!

-image from Google
Leave a Reply

